Agenda of the EASR General Assembly 2017 (Leuven)

As previously announced, the next meeting of the General Assembly of the European Association for the Study of Religions (EASR) will be held during the 2017 EASR conference in Leuven. The meeting of the Assembly will take place on Tuesday, 19 September 2017, between 17:00 and 19:00, in the Centraal Auditorium Gasthuisberg (CAG), at the main location of the conference. This is also where the plenary sessions will take place. Details about the location, and how to reach it, can be found in the conference website: https://kuleuvencongres.be/easr2017/articles/conferevenue.

All EASR members (either via membership in a national association affiliated to the EASR or via individual membership) are invited to attend the meeting of the Assembly. However, only paid-up members will have voting rights, as specified in the EASR constitution.

This is the preliminary agenda of the General Assembly:

- 1. Right of attendance and right of vote
- 2. Adoption of final agenda
- 3. President's report
- 4. General Secretary's report
- 5. Treasurer's report
- 6. Proposed changes to the articles of the EASR Constitution concerning the election of EC officers (see annex 1)
- 7. Guidelines for EASR affiliated organisations
- 8. Discussion about the recent creation of a European Academy of Religion (see annex 2a and 2b).
- 9. Budget for the next financial year (2017-2018)
- 10. Future conferences
- 11. Any other business

INFORMATION ABOUT QUALIFICATIONS AND PROCEDURES

According to the Constitution of the EASR (cf. http://easr.org/home/constitution.html), Art. 5, iv:

"Notice of a meeting of the General Assembly shall be given by the general secretary. When notice is given not less than 90 days in advance of the General Assembly a widely available form of communication such as a printed bulletin or an electronic medium is sufficient. If the period of notice is shorter, notice must be sent to all members individually in writing. The minimum period of notice is 30 days by postmark. Non-receipt of notice by one or more members shall not invalidate the decisions of the meeting."

Voting rights of participant members depend on valid current membership.

MEMBERSHIP FEES

The annual subscription / membership fee for the year 2017 is paid by each affiliate national association on the basis of 2 Euro per member. Individual members pay an annual fee of 15 Euro.

There is a minimum fee for the corporate members of the EASR, independently from the number of their respective members, which is fixed at 50 Euro.

EASR membership will be declared lapsed by the Executive Committee, or the General Assembly, if any dues remain unpaid after six consecutive notifications within a period of 18 months. Where any dues remain unpaid for three years, the society's name will be struck from the list.

In the case of corporate membership, it is the responsibility of the appointed delegates of the affiliate national associations (cf. below) to make sure that the fee is paid or that special arrangements with the treasurer are made in case of exceptional circumstances. A reminder to delegates for the annual payment of subscription fees was sent out earlier in the year.

MEMBERS

The following national associations are at present (5 September 2017) registered as corporate members, and this call has been emailed to the elected/designated officers as well as to the delegated members of the committee (i.e. those responsible for communicating the call to the members of the respective national associations), and to the individual members of EASR (i.e. those who are not members via a national association). In addition, the call will be announced on the six official EASR mailing lists.

EASR Member Associations as of 5 September 2017

BABEL, Belgische associatie voor de studie van religies / Association belge pour l'étude des religions (Belgian Association for the Study of Religions)

BASR, British Association for the Study of Religions

CSR, Česká Společnost pro Religionistiku (Czech Association for the Study of Religion)

DASR, Dansk Selskab for Religionsvidenskab (Danish Association for the Study of Religions)

DVRW, Deutsche Vereinigung für Religionswissenschaft (German Association for the Study of Religion)

EAUS/ESSR, Eesti Akadeemiline Usundiloo Selts (Estonian Society for the Study of Religions)

GSSCR, Greek Society for the Study of Culture and Religion

ISASR, Irish Society for the Academic Study of Religions

LRD/LSSR, Lietuvos Religijotyrininkų Draugija (Lithuanian Society for the Study of Religions)

LRPB, Latvijas Reliģiju Pētniecības Biedrība (Latvian Society for the Study of Religions)

MVTY, Magyar Vallástudományi Tarsaság (Hungarian Association for the Academic Study of Religions)

NGG, Nederlands Genootschap voor Godsdienstwetenschap (Dutch Association for the Study of Religions)

NRF, Norsk Religionshistorisk Forening (Norwegian Association for the History of Religions)

ÖGRW, Österreichische Gesellschaft für Religionswissenschaft (Austrian Association for the Study of Religion)

PTR, Polskie Towarzystwo Religioznawcze (Polish Association for the Study of Religions)

RAHR, Asociația Română de Istorie a Religiilor (Romanian Association for the History of Religions)

SECR, Sociedad Española de Ciencias de las Religiones (Spanish Society for the Study of Religions)

SER, Société Ernest Renan. Société Française d'Histoire des Religions (French Society for the History of Religions)

SGR/SSSR, Schweizerische Gesellschaft für Religionswissenschaft/Société Suisse pour la Science des Religions/Società Svizzera per la Scienza delle Religioni (Swiss Society for the Study of Religions)

SISR, Società Italiana di Storia delle Religioni (Italian Society for the History of Religions)

SSRF, Svenska Samfundet för Religionshistorisk Forskning (Swedish Association for Research in the History of Religions)

SUS, Suomen Uskontotieteellinen Seura (Finnish Society for the Study of Comparative Religion)

TAHR, Türkiye Dinler Tarihi Dernegi (Turkish Association for the History of Religions

UAR/UARR, Ukrayins'ka Asociaciya Relihiyeznavciv (Ukrainian Association of Researchers of Religion)

Individual members:

Sean Currie (USA)	
Tatyana Alexandrovna Folieva (Russia)	
Svetlana Karassyova (Belarus)	
Mario Katič (Croatia)	
Pavel Kostylev (Russia)	
Michiaki Okuyama (Japan)	

Honorary members

Giulia Gasparro Michael Pye Peter Antes Ursula King James L. Cox

Current officers in the Executive Committee of the EASR

President:

Einar Thomassen (Norway)

Vice-Presidents:

Marion Bowman (UK) Giovanni Casadio (Italy)

General Secretary:

Marco Pasi (Netherlands / Italy)

Deputy General Secretary:

Ábrahám Kovacs (Hungary)

Treasurer:

Tineke Nugteren (Netherlands)

Deputy Treasurer:

Franz Winter (Austria)

Membership Secretary:

Silvia Alfayé (Spain)

Publications Officer:

Teemu Taira (Finland)

Internet Officer:

Sebastian Schüler (Germany)

Co-opted Member:

Wanda Alberts (Germany)

Representative for the EASR individual members:

Svetlana Karassyova (Belarus)

IAHR-representatives:

Tim Jensen / Satoko Fujiwara

For all current information about the EASR please visit the website: http://www.easr.eu
To contact the EASR General Secretary: m.pasi@uva.nl